Monday, September 20, 2021

Status of the Great Green Wall in Two African Nations

The Great Green Wall in an initiative of the African Union to draw a green line across the continent to hold back the Sahara. Trees and other plants are set out in order to not only stop desertification, but hopefully even reverse it. The nations involved are Burkina Faso, Chad, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, and Sudan. In the excellent report below via France 24 we are brought up to speed on the progress and challenges of this effort in two of those countries. It's a mixed bag. Local people participating but also thieves wreaking havoc. This project is crucial for the well-being of people in the region and for the health of the local and global environment.